About the book

”I want to invite my reader to play some kind of game together. If he agrees he will make some experiences that might make him richer on the inside. If what I have written is good it might even make him happy.“ Some of Michael Ende’s most beautiful plays are united in this volume and invite us on a journey through his poetic world – on a journey that shows a Michael Ende beyond his great master pieces. Whoever wants to rediscover the popular writer will find this a worthwhile read. In this book we meet again the kobold Goggolori, once again we go hunting for a Snark, we are enchanted by the pied piper or fooled by the spoilsports.

The following plays you will find in this anthology:
Der Goggolori (The Goggolori), Die Jagd nach dem Schlarg, (The Hunting of the Snark; Lewis Carroll, free rendering by Michael Ende), Die Jagd nach dem Schlarg (The Hunting for the Snark; libretto for a musical play for clowns), Die Spielverderber oder: Das Erbe der Narren (The spoilsports or: The Inheritance of Fools), Der Rattenfänger (The Pied Piper).


  • Pages: 560
  • First published in: 1999
  • ISBN: 3522717252
  • Original publisher: Weitbrecht Verlag

Press Reviews

Keine Pressestimmen vorhanden.